Billy Al Bengston: Paintings & Watercolors

The first monograph on the Californian Pop Artist since more than thirty years with a representative selection of works from 1957 to 2014

Billy Al Bengston is the very personifi cation of the cheerful, carefree attitude towards life in Califor-nia — with his work as well as his person: a former surfer and motorcycle racer, an extravagant artist and key fi gure of West Coast Pop Art.
After studying at the California College of Arts and Crafts and the Otis Art Institute, he exhibited at the legendary Ferus Gallery in 1957 and was the central fi gure among a group of artists that included Frank Gehry, Edward Kienholz, Ed Ruscha, and Ken Price. BAB, as he apostrophizes himself, inserts car
and motorcycle parts as motifs into his otherwise abstract paintings, using lacquer and spray paint instead of oil, and aluminum panels with at times dented surfaces instead of the traditional canvas. Art and lifestyle combine to create the individual
“Bengston iconography” of California Cool.

48,00

Categories: ,

Additional information

Editor(s)

Hans Neuendorf

Author(s)

Mary Agnes Donoghue, Hans Neuendorf

Design

Gerd Fleischmann

Size

23 x 28 cm

Pages

368

Illustrations

c. 390, color

Cover

Hardcover

Language(s)

German, English

ISBN

978-3-947563-39-5

Billy Al Bengston: Paintings & Watercolors

Erste Monografie des kalifornischen Pop-Art-Künstlers seit über 30 Jahren mit einer repräsentativen Auswahl seines Schaffens von 1957 bis 2014

Billy Al Bengston steht für das heitere, unbekümmerte Lebensgefühl Kaliforniens – mit seinem Werk ebenso wie seiner Person als ehemaliger Surfer und Motorradrennfahrer, extravaganter Künstler und zentraler Figur der West Coast Pop Art.
Nach Studien am California College of Arts and Crafts und Otis Art Institute stellte er bereits 1957 in der legendären Ferus Gallery aus und war Mittelpunkt einer Künstlergruppe, zu der auch Frank Gehry, Edward Kienholz, Ed Ruscha und Ken Price gehörten.
BAB, wie er sich selbst apostrophiert, fügt Auto- und Motorradteile als Motive in seine ansonsten abstrakten Bilder ein, benutzt statt Ölfarbe Lack und Sprühdose und statt der traditionellen Leinwand Aluminiumplatten mit zuweilen eingedellter Oberfläche. Kunstschaffen und Lebensstil verbinden sich zur individuellen „Bengston-Ikonografie“ des California Cool.

48,00

Kategorien: ,

Zusätzliche Information

Herausgeber

Hans Neuendorf

Buchautor(en)

Mary Agnes Donoghue, Hans Neuendorf

Gestaltung

Gerd Fleischmann

Maße

23 x 28 cm

Seitenzahl

368

Abbildungen

ca. 390, farbig

Umschlag

Hardcover

Sprache(n)

Deutsch, Englisch

ISBN

978-3-947563-39-5