was successfully added to your cart.

Cart

NewsUncategorized

The MIES Project in Chicago

By 12. September 2019 September 26th, 2019 No Comments

On September 16, 2019, the Goethe-Institut Chicago opened the exhibition The MIES Project by the Berlin-based photo artist Arina Dähnick. With the legendary Leica M rangefinder camera, classical “analog” technology, and photographic intuition, Dähnick opened up a whole new visual access to the architecture of Mies van der Rohe. Vantage point and distance, the mood of the light at different times of day and year, the manual adjustment of aperture, exposure, and focus, and the complete renunciation of image-manipulating post-processing make the shots a highly personal and, for the viewer, fascinating new MIES experience.

Even if you do not travel to Chicago, you can still share this experience: Four motifs from the series are available from Edition Cantz in a limited artist’s edition.

Arina Dähnick, Architectural Portraits. The MIES Project
To the book

The series is on view at the Goethe-Institut in Chicago through October 11, 2019.
To the exhibition

Parallel to the Chicago Architecture Biennial, the photographs will also be shown from September 25 to November 19, 2019 in the S. R. Crown Hall of the IIT College of Architecture in Chicago – one of Mies van der Rohe’s architectural masterpieces.
To the exhibition

From left to right: Michelangelo Sabatino, Dean, College of Architecture, S.R. Crown Hall, Chicago, photo artist Arina Dähnick and Dirk Lohan, grandson of Mies van der Rohe, Fellow of the American Institute of Architects

This site is also available in: deDeutsch

was successfully added to your cart.

Warenkorb

Unkategorisiert

The MIES Project in Chicago

By 12. September 2019 September 26th, 2019 No Comments

Seit dem 16. September zeigt das Goethe-Institut Chicago die Ausstellung The MIES Project der Fotokünstlerin Arina Dähnick. Mit der legendären Leica M Messsucherkamera, klassischer „analoger“ Technik und fotografischer Intuition erschloss die Berlinerin einen ganz neuen visuellen Zugang zur Architektur von Mies van der Rohe. Blickwinkel und Entfernung, die Stimmung des Lichts zu unterschiedlichen Tages- und Jahreszeiten, manuelle Einstellung von Blende, Belichtung und Fokus und der völlige Verzicht auf bildmanipulierende Nachbearbeitung machen die Aufnahmen zu einer höchst persönlichen und für den Betrachter faszinierend neuen MIES-Erfahrung zugleich.

Auch wenn Sie nicht nach Chicago reisen, können Sie diese Erfahrung teilen: Vier Motive aus der Werkserie sind bei der Edition Cantz in einer limitierten Künstleredition erhältlich.

Arina Dähnick: Architectural Portraits. The MIES Project
Zum Buch

Bis zum 11. Oktober 2019 ist die Werkserie im Goethe-Institut in Chicago zu sehen.
Zur Ausstellung

Parallel zur Architecture Biennial Chicago werden die Bilder vom 25. September bis 19. November 2019 in der S.R. Crown Hall des IIT Architecture College in Chicago gezeigt – einem der architektonischen Meisterwerke Mies van der Rohes.
Zur Ausstellung

v.l.n.r.: Michelangelo Sabatino, Dekan, College of Architecture, S.R. Crown Hall, Chicago, Fotokünstlerin Arina Dähnick und Dirk Lohan, Enkel von Mies van der Rohe, Fellow of the American Institute of Architects

This site is also available in: enEnglish